The Organization of American States was founded in April 1948 with the purpose of forging cooperation and solidarity among its members. All 35 independent states of the Americas have ratified the OAS Charter and are members of the Organization. OAS has provided the foundation upon which a number of trade agreements, peace accords, and legal systems have been built. 

As a primer for exploring the functions and necessity of the Inter-American Human Rights Network, see the following pages:

Inter-American Human Rights System

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights 

Inter-American Court of Human Rights 

Emblematic Cases 

Challenges and Criticisms